//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Put More Time on Your Side: GREAT RESOURCE

Put More Time On Your Side: Dr. Jan Yager

So, you have no time to complete everything you were assigned at work. You have trouble finishing tasks because you are overwhelmed and disorganized. You never stop to think about what you want to do, what you want to achieve because you are on the go from morning till night trying to fit the many different pieces of your day into the 24 hours allotted to all of us. Well! Take a deep breath. Stop and stand still while I relate to you the solution to your problems. Better yet sit down, read my review and then get yourself a copy of Put More Time On Your Side by Jan Yager and better yet let’s begin the journey to the solution to your problems.
Chapter three really started my journey with this book as the author titled it Time Management Skills that Give you the Competitive Edge. There are twelve in all that will help you and of course me become more productive:
1. Prioritizing
2. Figure out what you should be doing in the first place since most of us are not aware of what needs to be done and rather than getting the tasks that are needed we sabotage ourselves
3. Make optimum use of your time
4. Clutter can waste time
5. Are you doing work that you love and that you feel passionate about? This is why I review books and interview great writers
6. Know where you are starting. The rest you will have to read for yourself. The author continues with a very important point DELEGATING! Which is number 9 and quite relevant since entrepreneurs and self-employed, have the skills to delegate and this can make or break your business if you do not delegate tasks to the right people.
Very important and vital to your success are the Seven Basic Principles of Time Management: These are great
1. Set a goal
2. Create a plan
3. Prioritize what you have to do
4. Pace yourself
5. Be self-directing
6. Find mentors and be a mentor
7. Reward yourself for each accomplishment
This is a great way to get started and since I am organized in my mind I decided to follow these seven steps before reviewing this great resource and I have to say this does work.
Next she talks about what is new in technology followed by knowing that self-management, self-confidence: taking better control of the only person you can truly control which I have to add is YOU!
So, once again I decided to test out the theories by asking myself the same question she poses on page 56: WHO AM I?
I answered the questions on the next two pages and what a startling revelation. For example: Do I like to work alone or with others? Both at times
Do I need others to praise me or is it enough to appreciate myself? I think I appreciate me but when complimented by the authors that I review and interview it boosts my will to continue and do even more to help others.
Do I prefer reading a book or listening to one: Easy: Reading: Print brings the words in focus better to me. Work on your strengths, empower your mind, build your self-confidence and one thing I always so is write it down whether on a pad or in my phone in reminder and notes. This is quite helpful. Next Her action system:
A: Assess
C. Control
T Target
I Innovate
O organize
N: NOW!
Very vital to your success are setting smart goals: S: Specific, M: Measureable, A: Achievable R: Realistic and T: Time framed

Chapter 5 explains time wasters there are 22. Chapters 6 and 7 deal with Office expectations and efficiency. Dealing with Distractions and fragmentation, how do you schedule your time, bad planning, putting things off? Are you a total perfectionist? Dealing with other people in your office and office politics you will learn the many ways to overcome these obstacles.
What I love is the PIE Wheel: P stands for Prioritize, I for Initiate and E: Evaluate and the author presents several different examples of this one: within the pie circle she divides it into the different tasks you might have to accomplish and using it as a reminder you can decide when and how much time for each one. Pie 2 is divided in 24 hours and Pie three two pie graphs each divided into 12 hours and Pie 4 my favorite: divided into the seven days of the week.
Next become a visionary, three time management lessons the author’s father taught her which since you the reader need to learn them read chapter 11 to become enlightened.
Cultural Issues and Productivity, which focuses on, gender concerns, age issues, race and ethnicity and cultural considerations. Chapter 13 explains time management time management concepts for greater productivity. They are: Overcome procrastination so you can do your priorities. See a deadline as a line that gives you life and power rather than seeing a deadline as something negative. RRA: Something I do right away: RESPOND RIGHT AWAY, Use email; don’t let it misuse you followed by finding out how others prefer to be contacted and use that form of communication. Review, review, review: VITAL Point, We are defined by as much as what we say no to as by what we say yes to, so if this is a challenge for you, learn now to be tactful and polite and saying no without feeling guilty. OTD: Out the door and look outside your own frame of reference to other professions or fields for inspiration and insights and other cultures too. DO IT NOW: D; divide and conquer, O: Organize your materials, I: Ignore interruptions, T: take your time, N: Now, O: Opportunity and w: Watch: You need to read the explanations to understand how valuable these are. The final chapters focus on Going forward as you put more time on your side and understand the acronym: ACHIEVE: A is for aim, c is for clarify, H, hone in on what is important, I is for innovate, E is for educate, V is for vision and E evaluate. Finally improvements in your time management and several bulleted points to bring it all home on page 181 and 182 where you can self questions yourself. The rest you need to learn for yourself as plus a valuable Appendix that I am using or organize my daily time with her time log. On these final pages you will find templates for ACHIEVE to use, Daily Logs, PIE and action strategy worksheets. A great resource and great way to focus on your tasks and Put More Time On Your Side.
Fran Lewis: Just reviews/MJ magazine

About Just Reviews by:gabina49:

author educator book reviewer for authors reading and writing staff developer Book reviewer for manic readers, ijustfinished.com book pleasures and authors upon request blog tours on my blog and interviews with authors I am the author of five published books. I wrote three children's books in my Bertha Series and Two on Alzheimer's. Radio show talk host on Red River Radio/Blog Talk Radio Book Discussion with Fran Lewis the third Wed. of every month at one eastern. I interview 2 authors each month feature their latest releases. I review books for authors upon request and my latest book Sharp As A Tack or Scrambled Eggs Which Describes Your Brain? Is an E book, Kindle and on Xlibris.com Some of the proceeds from this last book will go to fund research in the area of Brain Traumatic Injury in memory of my sister Marcia who died in July.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

Categories

my eventd

July 2017
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

fran

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2,510 other followers

MY EVENTS AND GREAT BOOKS

July 2017
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

archives

Blog Stats

  • 33,282 hits
July 2017
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

just reviews

request a review or an interview on my radio show

recenet great books

great books to read

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Radio show dates

July 2017
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events

It looks like the WordPress site URL is incorrectly configured. Please check it in your widget settings.

